Events

Clear All
August 2018
  • SUN
  • MON
  • TUES
  • WED
  • THUR
  • FRI
  • SAT
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
    • New Guideline: Design and Maintenance of the Surgical Suite
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31

Upcoming Webinar

New Guideline: Design and Maintenance of the Surgical Suite

August 23, 2018
1 pm (PT); 2 pm (MT); 3 pm (CT); 4 pm (ET),

Speaker: Byron L. Burlingame, MS, RN, BSN, CNOR

Tune into this webinar about the new AORN Guideline for Design and Maintenance of the Surgical Suite which replaces the Guideline for Safe Environment of Care Part 2. Perioperative RNs will increase their knowledge of design and construction, daily operations (eg, actions to take when temperature and humidity regulators, or any utility, is not properly functioning), and restoration of the OR after a utility failure.

Outcomes

  • Describe the revised requirements for the unrestricted, semi-restricted, and restricted zones of the surgical suite.
  • Identify the security zones within the surgical suite.
  • Explain the four zones within the operating room.
  • List the responsibilities of the perioperative RN during construction.
  • Describe steps to follow after a utility failure.

Member Price: Free
Non-member Price: $11
Upcoming Webinar

New! AORN Guideline: Safe Patient Handling and Movement

September 11, 2018
1 pm (PT); 2 pm (MT); 3 pm (CT); 4 pm (ET),

Speaker: Mary J. Ogg, MSN, RN, CNOR

The perioperative setting poses unique challenges related to the provision of patient care and completion of procedure-related tasks. This highly technical environment is equipment intensive and necessitates the lifting and moving of patients, and heavy supplies and equipment during the perioperative team member’s work shift. This webinar will review the new AORN Guideline for Safe Patient Handling and Movement, which provides evidence-based practice guidance for safe patient handling interventions to help the perioperative team establish a safe environment for the surgical patient and team members. The new guideline incorporates the AORN Guidance Statement: Safe Patient Handling and Movement in the Perioperative Setting and the ANA Safe Patient Handling and Mobility: Interprofessional National Standards Across the Care Continuum.

Outcomes

  • Describe the incidence of musculoskeletal disorders in healthcare and contributing factors.
  • Discuss the eight recommendations for implementing a safe patient handling program in the OR.
  • Describe the implementation of the seven AORN Ergonomic Tools.

Member Price: Free
Non-member Price: $11